ASB Election Results


By Madeline Reilly & Calvin Rosevear

The Associated Student Body (ASB) election results were announced on April 28, ending in the victory of President Robbie Samec, Vice President Megan Butt, also a news editor for The Tam News, and Treasurer Mahren Hudson. All winners are current juniors.

Samec ran against juniors TK Dahlke and Ellie Evans, Butt ran against junior Jacob Renneisen, and Hudson ran unopposed. The fourth ASB position of secretary was left vacant, after no one declared candidacy.

In the 2016-2017 school year Samec held office as ASB vice president, and Butt and Hudson held office for the class of 2018 as president and treasurer respectively.

Both Butt and Hudson reflected on the intense presidential race. “This year was the most qualified race for ASB president that I’ve ever seen because all of them were ASB officers in the past and all of their campaigns were super competitive,” Hudson said.

History teacher and leadership advisor Nathan Bernstein observed the campaigning and outcome of this election. “I think in the future we need to do a better job at having more time for the candidates to show what they’re running about,” he said.

After the win, Samec plans to continue his work with other organizations on campus.

“As president, I want to start discussions with students who are leading the charge in issues [at Tam],” he said. “As [ASB] vice president [this year], I’ve spent a lot of time talking with Principal Farr and the leaders of groups like GSA, Students of Color, and Gender Equality to figure out what they’re most concerned about. We’ve even started a task force to find ways that leadership and the administration can be a resource to these groups.”

The election for the open ASB secretary position and class officer positions will be held during the week of May 16.